Tags

, , , , , , , ,

See Part I and Part II of this topic for the background on this post… Here’s the final version of the Market Square painting (Portsmouth, New Hampshire), as scanned by a local print shop:

As I looked at the painting with Ellen, we thought it might take on a different look if it were cropped. To explore this, I brought the image into PowerPoint to play around with it. I’m a wiz at PowerPoint (thanks to my consulting experience), but I should probably learn Photoshop at some point in the future (I do my color and lighting adjustments using Picasa). I created a couple of “virtual mats” in standard sizes in PowerPoint (5×7 shown below):

Then I played with positioning the mats and resizing the image to see what kind of prints could come out of the painting. Here are some of the options I came up with:

I was quite surprised by the difference this framing/cropping process made in terms of the feel of the painting. It allowed me to focus in on the parts of the painting with the most energy (which Ellen pointed out is the area with the little people).

Here’s the full painting framed within a mat:

I’d love to hear your thoughts on the crops.

I’ll show these to Kennedy Gallery and get their feedback. Then it’s a matter of figuring out how to get the highest quality prints and how to package them (I’ve found a website that sells retail kits with mat, backing, and cellophane wrapper for about $1/unit — redimat.com).

Have you sold your art? Do you crop and sell different versions? Do you sell with or without matting? I’d love to hear your story!

